A Gallery of Stripes; with a Tip o’ the Hat to Hugh’s Views and News

Welcome to my writing blog! And what better way to start the week on a writing blog, she chirps absurdly, than with a photographic gallery?

It turns out, you probably have photos of stripes you never even remembered! As it happens, most of my patterned stripey ones are family and nature (some very subtle on the theme, I think!). All were taken with a digital camera of moderate to low quality (especially as I’d had it for several years). I probably should have, but I don’t like working with Photoshop and photography programs as they make me dither, so these are straightforward, uncropped, unadjusted, hopefully not too unfocused or unbalanced, and so on.

If you enjoy these photos and/or want to play along, you’ve not got long. They’re incredibly fun, so do check out the dapper Mr. Hugh at Hugh’s Views and News for his stripes photography challenge. But don’t stop there: he also provides blogging tips and other photo challenges, including a weekly “Doors” prompt (the household type, not the band!).

In the meanwhile, please do visit me again and enjoy your week, wherever you are!

8 thoughts on “A Gallery of Stripes; with a Tip o’ the Hat to Hugh’s Views and News

  1. Thanks for participating in my weekly photo challenge, Leigh. I love what you have entered for the challenge (apart from the snake because they terrify me!) πŸ˜€
    Thanks for all the other mentions of what my blog contain. Yep, it’s a complete cross-section. Almost like going into a junk shop πŸ˜€ but I love hunting around second-hand and junk shops. You just never know what you might find.

    • Oh, not junk at all. Treasure, Hugh! πŸ™‚ Faces is looking mighty interesting, too, because I’m always seeing ‘the pattern in the carpet’ so to speak. Are those ‘facelike’ stones nearby your home or were you on holiday when you took the photo? Right now, I’m in a good mood, so I’m seeing them as benevolent and smiling! Good shot! πŸ™‚

      • I took this photo on a beach in Wales. We’re hopefully moving to Wales in the next month, so I’ll be able to hunt out lots more strange rock-like creatures.
        I’m seeing faces in everything as well, Leigh. These challenges certainly open your eyes more when out and about.

    • I did; in fact, I looked up the definition of ‘stripes’ to see if I was “wrong” or “right” (if one can even be that, with art!). Funny, though, unlike Cee, I couldn’t find a single picture in my collection of a zebra. Plenty of elephants, orangs, bonobos, tons of birds and reptiles and insects, etc. Oh, and a snoozing tiger, but it wasn’t a great shot. In any case, I’m enjoying looking at Hugh’s “stripes” list just this morning.

  2. Wonderful photos, Leigh. I love the laughing in the snow picture, especially as they are so enjoying themselves! I quite like snakes, although keep my distance from adders. Grass snakes are great. According to my Chinese Horoscope, I was born in the Year of the Snake.

Leave a Reply

