Electageddon 2016: I was going to, but then I didn’t . . .

. . . Write a literary Q & A with both presidential candidates, here in the U.S., but I’ve decided to succumb to election fatigue or, as I’ve termed it, Electageddon. (I’m not saying I coined it; most probably John Oliver said something very similar.)

Simply put, most of the humor has gone out of U.S. politics. Other than the angry brand.

Now, I don’t think the dialogues should cease—except for the two political ads I receive every stinking day(!), as well as all those commercials between newscasts—but at this time, I choose to look to other matters, to move on. As well as to strive, to seek, and not to yield. The jury’s still out on the “finding” part, Tennyson fans. [Tennysonites? Tennysonians?]

Of course, I will vote (I haven’t yet) and do my part [for I have a vagenda of manicide; there, I finally said it]. Heck, my family even attempted to get yard signs for local candidates (but were unsuccessful, two times).

shakespeare-insult-book-man-as-beast_cropped

From Shakespeare: The Bard’s Guide to Abuses and Affronts

But I’m done with arguing. I’m also done with racism. I’m sickened by those who shame the disabled. I’m done with the immigrant-bashing. I’m fed up with those who attack Islam. And finally, I’m done with Republicans [who stump for Trump] tweeting that Drumpf is leading “the cunt.”

The best way that Trump can make America great again? If I were mean, I’d say shuffle off your mortal coils, ASAP. (The case could be made that they’re mostly useless because of all the heavy rust anyway.) But since I’m not: Get out. Just get out. We don’t want you here. Let’s not make America hate again.

That said, I’d not want to be back in the newspaper biz come Nov. 8th or 9th. I predict a farked-up election (remember the hanging chads?) and possibly some violence. It would be a pity if it devolves to that. But wait, it already has. See that point way up there in the clouds—way, way up; past the thermosphere now and into the exosphere—that used to be us. The good us. And it’s getting farther away, not closer. (Hat tip to John Oliver for this idea.)

So, what else can a rational person from the 99% do? I’ve tuned in and turned on (television and radio, phone and computer).

But, for now, I think the best choice for my sanity is to drop out, to kill my television and other media tools. Perhaps you’ll join me in boycotting election news?

 

 

7 thoughts on “Electageddon 2016: I was going to, but then I didn’t . . .

  1. Well said. I will be voting. I am so ready for this election to be over. The nasty comments started so early and I am horribly disappointed in an electorate that views name calling the same as truth telling. And it now seems to be a race to the bottom as each side says more and more hateful things about the other. I miss I civil discourse. Perhaps I will tell my grand children about it in hushed tones some day.

    • I’m sorry to hear that you are bombarded with our presidential news, Hilary. Seems like a double-whammy with the Brexit fall-out and to have a Trump headache on top of it all. Yes, let’s all hope for no violence. I really, really hope it doesn’t come to that, but I’m wary either way. With Brexit not turning out how I’d expected it to, it seems more like anything’s possible. And it’s not as if I’m an oracle anyway. But let’s all hope kindness prevails (and the misery goes away; far, far away, for a long time) . . .

  2. I’d hate to have the choice you have to make because I don’t think I’d find it easy to vote for either. It’s regularly on the news here, this morning they’re saying Trump could be ahead, let’s hope not, but I guess we’ll soon know one way or another….

  3. Whatever vote you cast, it will be for the lesser of two evils rather than the best of two goods. It’s all so negative and, as you say, full of hatred. Why can’t an election campaign be run on positives and truths? With Brexit there were lies on both sides and two sides, neither of which believed they’d get the result they did, hence the lack of plans in place. I wish that Cameron had never promised a referendum and unsettled everybody, but then a referendum was one of his election promises related to his leadership ambitions (once he was let out of the closet with the LibDems). It had little to do do with the good of the country. …There, this is a first: SP has broken her Blogland rule not to comment on politics!

Leave a Reply

