Hugh’s Photo Challenge: Week 23 – Season

Well, May is shaping up very nicely. And busily, especially in that my fledglings will be leaving the school-nest in a few weeks and flying home. Let’s hope they don’t peck each other to death. (Only kidding! Okay, partly.)

The lovely Hugh, via his able and charming stand-in host Ronovan, has a photo challenge once again that sparked my interest: Seasons, which I interpreted as Nature. You’re shocked, right? [In any case, I do encourage you to visit blogger & author Ronovan’s blog, right over here.]

Here are a few views of the season here in the Northern Hemisphere, North American style.  Oh, I’m told I should put a warning/caveat of sorts here. These photos will feature wiggly squiggly critters from outdoors.

There was one decent photo of a cute little toad(let), but I’m having a problem converting it from the phone. Besides, you’re saying “oh my glob, does she not know when to stop?” And so, I shall.

Hope you enjoy these nature photographs of the spring season.

Two blue eggs

Robin’s eggs. They should hatch soon.

Powerbox Nest & mom

Same nest, same avian ingenuity.

Baby grapes

Tiny grapes a’growin.

Introducing Charlotte

The kids call her Charlotte.

Sick tree

The fungus that looked like a flat rodent.

Balancing nest

Avian ingenuity, part 2.

Crow watches

Hey, human, you talkin’ to me?

Snake-front 2

Ssssstay away from me, lady!

Snake-above

Yesss, I’m colorful, but didn’t I tell you to get losssst already?

 

44 thoughts on “Hugh’s Photo Challenge: Week 23 – Season

  1. A wonderful set of spring photos. Those robin eggs are such a unique blue. So pretty. It’s certainly not warm enough here in the UK for snakes to emerge from hibernation. For the whole of last week, we had a cutting northerly wind, frosts, and zero temperature at dawn for two mornings running. Has warmed up a little bit now, but now it’s grey and raining. Thanks for reminding me what spring is meant to look like!

  2. Great pictures Leigh, those nests really are ingenious. As Sarah said we haven’t had much of spring here this last week – snow, rain, hail and freezing temperatures, then a lovely spring afternoon today.

    • I was using a zoom, Sue, but I also was on the ground (like a snake, on my belly) to get a good shot, probably about 5 feet away. I can be crazy to get a good photo, though I wanted to be closer. Anyway, s/he didn’t strike at me, so knock on wood. My lucky day!

  3. Okay, I love all of the spring photos, BUT, I am so very curious about the SNAKE!!!! We have snakes here and one (I swear it was a Copperhead, which are native to our area) scared the heck out of me a few years ago. Do you know what type of snake that was, in your photo? It looks a lot like the one I saw, coiled up, ready to strike at my dog. Thank goodness my dog listened to me and walked away!

    • I wish I knew, Swoosieque. The one snake book I’m looking for, I cannot find on the shelf. I’ll keep looking, but my assumption is that what I saw was a common garter snake. I suppose it maybe could be a copperhead; I think they are around here, too, but I’m not 100% sure. If I remember correctly and you’ve not moved, you’re in OK. We’re kinda bi-state, IL/MO, .as far as animal & plant range.

      • I agree, I think much of our wildlife are very similar. My husband told me that a quick way to identify a poisonous snake is by their eyes. I told him that I don’t wait around to investigate the snake’s eyes, I just leave in a hurry! Haha

      • I know! I’ve heard that too. My eyes are not that good, nor do I want my face that close to a snake. I’m looking at this source–it’s really good—and thinking either Common Garter Snake or maybe Plains Garter Snake for the one I photo’d. Apparently, common garters are mildly venomous, so they might be problematic to a child or small dog or petite adult maybe. {?} Here’s the link {I used p. 5}: http://www.whatsnakeisthat.com/midwest/missouri.html?start=32

    • Thanks, Dr Ali! Yeah, I did back off some . . . first, ran inside to get camera (I was mowing grass, removed a board, et voila, there s/he was). But I didn’t like how the zoom photos were turning out, so I was belly on the ground, probably about 5 feet away. I guess s/he still could have struck, but thankfully didn’t.

  4. A lovely set of photos, Leigh. How lovely to have the nest of a Robin in your garden. The Robin is my favourite garden bird, but I’ve never seen one of its nests. I hope those chicks hatch safely.
    When I got to the photos of the snake I had to look away being as it’s at number one of my most feared creatures. Thank goodness Toby did not hear me scream. 😱
    Thank you for joining in the challenge hosted by Ronovan.

    • I’m not sure, Zteve. I can’t find the snake book on my shelf that I’m searching for; my belief is that it’s a common garter snake. We’ll see! I’ll let you know if I find out differently.

    • Thank you so much, Miriam. I was lucky to spot these photo opportunities; then I discovered today that my son’s schoolroom has a robin’s nest with 4 eggs in it. All the little kids are enthralled (okay, me too), because the window is tinted and the bird doesn’t see them very well. Thank you again for stopping by to comment. Take care!

    • To be honest, my long-distance lens was not making me happy either, Linda. I probably got a little too close, though I think this was/is a common garter snake or maybe a plains garter snake, neither likely to cause much problem in an adult. (Not that I’d want to be bitten, tho!)

  5. Hello Leigh: I’m so glad I finally was able to stop by. What lovely photographs! I’m a true bird lover so you have captured my heart in addition to your pictures! And, I must say, even the snake is a beauty! Great job. 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

