Good times, bad times

Tree-2-22-16

May the sun be ever setting on your troubles! (Photo with filter applied)

First and foremost, it has been a rough couple weeks for one of the kids (and thus, my whole family), such that I’m thankful and glad it’s almost at a close (we hope). So, I haven’t had the time to read blogs and comment–at least not to the degree that I’d like. That should change as the days go on.

To balance out a tiny bit of the terrible, I’ve had a double-dip of the literary toe into pleasant waters. In short, I’ve had two microfiction pieces published. One is “old,” having been published in October 2015, and I just found out about it. I owe my belated thanks and gratitude to The Drabble for publishing “A Lotta Guts.” If you’re not familiar with this term or concept, basically most definitions say that a drabble is a short literary story, or microfiction piece, of exactly 100 words, not including the title. So, it’s exceedingly succinct. Somehow, I was able to craft and send a brief darling forth into the world (you can, too), and they published it. If you’re interested in the connection between American actor Ernest Borgnine and infectious disease, you shouldn’t miss this speculative fiction story. While you’re there, do be sure to partake of other “shortness[es] of breadth,” which is The Drabble’s motto.

That was the older “new news.” Now, the new news is that I just had a 50-word story, called “Love Offerings,” published on 50-Word Stories on February 22, 2016; they list me as Leigh Smith there. They publish two “bite-sized” stories daily, so your palate is always satisfied. And, if you enjoy my story or all or some of them, please give them a thumb’s-up (there’s a “like” at the bottom of each day’s stories). I feel very honored to have been included on this forum–and with another L-named person (this one was a Lee) on the same date. A big barbaric yawp-y shout-out to 50-Word Stories and its editor, Tim Sevenhuysen. Unless otherwise noted, they read submissions between the 1st and 15th of every month, and publish what they like on their Web site, with you retaining the rights. Give it a go if you like writing the short stuff.

So, a short(ish) post befits a couple of my recent short publications. This will be a Monday Markets stand-in for the time being, until I’m off and running again with blogging. Have a creative week, everyone!

 

 

 

20 thoughts on “Good times, bad times

  1. I enjoyed both of those very much. On our first visit to America we arrived in Chicago on St Columbus Day, we strolled up to watch the procession and suddenly my husband gripped my arm and pointed to an elderly organising VIP saying, ‘Look, that’s Ernest Borgnine there.’ I’m afraid it didn’t mean much to me, but it made my husband very happy. Hope all is well on the family front now.

    • Thanks, Sarah. Really appreciate that! It’s getting better; that is to say, DD is doing better. I might write about her if I think it will help someone else (and I can safeguard her feelings and privacy, of course). Anyway, for now, happy weekend. Hope you’re not deluged with rain!

  2. I hope all is well by now in your family, Leigh.
    Congrats on the publications, Leigh. 🙂 Both the stories were enjoyable. Thanks for introducing both the sites to us.
    Take care!

    • Thank you, Norma. I’m so sorry to hear you’ve been having difficult times. As for us, I think my DD is on the mend. She did a half-day of school today; it’s possible I’ll write about it, masking her identity so as to be sensitive to her, in the future, if I feel like it can help other mums and dads/kid caregivers (or kids) going through such an experience. Anyway, I hope you are able to get back to writing more and more again, blogging and pursuing your other writing goals (not to mention art).

      • Must be hard on you too. I hope things get better quickly. I think that’s a good.
        I’m just getting back to my normal life and that has started including blogging as well. Thanks Leigh, I am happy that I’ve found some good and supportive blogger friends here. I will be working on my goals that includes pens and papers, paint and brushes. See you later, Leigh. And don’t worry things will get better. 🙂

Leave a Reply

