Handling the Human Heart: Haiku

Reuters--butchery photo

Reuters photograph.

Youth, flayed

Whistle at one life’s work.

That snug abbatoir, childhood,

skips to your lax blade.

 

Her heart

She forgot to know

words more powerful than belts.

Lacerating tears.

 

His heart

Wet vigils kept you

over pallid self-esteem,

sluicing away flesh.

Crane-Desert poem graphic

Because it is your heart

Seagram’s, your Grail, spears

raggedy id. Pinking shears

sawtooth kith — and kin.

 

 

Fear’s edge

You saw its savage

edge through pocket of apron.

A grin slits your lips.


Haiku for this week’s Haiku Horizons, on “cut,” which lent itself to sanguine verses (for me, anyway; be sure to read the other contributors!).

And now for some comic relief (note: this is the “Barbershop/Lumberjack sketch,” the first part of which might gross out the squeamish).

 

 

5 thoughts on “Handling the Human Heart: Haiku

  1. Those are most powerful haiku and quite different from any that I’ve read before. They’re mind provoking rather than meditative, perhaps, but you have a wonderfully creative way of using words that works on all the senses.

    I love Monty Python and am old enough to have watched the very first episode when it was aired on British television. What a revolution in comedy it was, too.

  2. That photo really set the tone for these (I couldn’t get the mental image of a butchered heart out of my head, either 🙂 ) There is something in each of these that stays with me, and I think it has to do with the powerful words you used – it’s obvious each word was chosen for maximum impact.

  3. I used to love watching my mother prepare and stuff an ox heart – a delicate operation. These were delicious because it didn’t have fat. By wonderful co-incidence I was listening to music on shuffle, this is mostly opera, but I have the Monty Python collection and the lumberjack song was playing as I arrived at your clip! I’ll concentrate on the poetry another time.

Leave a Reply

