Trifextra Week 103: Of Heroes Hirsute

Trifecta Tricycle ImageI’m not sure what you’re working on currently, but I’m treading in the realms of realism again these days.

This week’s Trifextra 33-word flash-fiction challenge freights you to the end of the line with this one: “That wasn’t what I meant.”

Being the linguistics-backgrounded word-nerd that I am, I had scads of fabness deciding where to put the accent in the terminal sentence: that, wasn’t, I, or meant. And working backward to form the oyster around the hoped-for pearl. (Hey, can a story be a back formation)?

In any case, I hope I give you an unusual prism to ponder.

*****

Of Heroes Hirsute

Shelter-Misc. 012

Many wonderful companions (like this one, adopted several years ago) await your love at a shelter or rescue group. If you are in the U.S., Canada, or Mexico, please visit Petfinder to learn more about adoption in your area. Photograph ©Leigh Ward-Smith

A sandpaper sensation woke me. Then I tried to whistle for Pep, but my left side wouldn’t move.

Gravel pop-rocked all around. Was I being herded?

My last confused command had been sit-climb-jump.

That wasn’t what I meant.”

6 thoughts on “Trifextra Week 103: Of Heroes Hirsute

    • And thank you–for your kind words and for providing the welcoming writers’ forum that you do. It is so valuable to connect with other writers and to read them (not to mention, one hopes, to improve one’s own writing). Happy writing, as y’all say!

    • Thank you for your kind comments. I enjoyed your original take on this prompt as well (don’t know about you, but I thought it was pretty difficult to write backwards!); you encapsulated so well that funny moment between friends. Your Friday Fictioneers piece was also fun!

Leave a Reply

