Trifextra: Week 102 (Flash Fiction on ‘Love Gone Wrong’)

Illustration from Hunter College High School http://www.hchs.hunter.cuny.edu/wiki/index.php?title=Image:Tiktaalik.jpg

Tiktaalik, a fossil creature from the Devonian, has been tapped as the link (or “transitional fossil”) between fish and the first vertebrates to walk on land. The fossil was discovered in the Canadian Arctic in 2004. Illustration accessed at Hunter College High School’s Web link.

Love. The mother of all four-letter words. Rivaled perhaps only by dead, this one minuscule word populates worlds and propels us.

Please join me in this world, for a flash fiction challenge.

*****

Loveolution

To the tips of her cilia, she knew—wordlessly—he wasn’t her type anymore. She was unbreakably brine, and he was earth-bound.

At the end, she undulated alone as all about her desiccated.

The "Devonian explosion" (mostly in fish species) gave way to a later mass-extinction. Illustration from Mind-Blowing Science.

The “Devonian explosion” (mostly in fish species) gave way to a later mass-extinction. Illustration from Mind-Blowing Science (link below, in “Research”).

Written for Week 102 of the Trifextra challenge, this 33-word story must touch on love gone awry. Check out the other writers and be amazed–or nerve-wracked, as I am, in going head-to-head (or heart-to-heart as the case may be) with such talented folks. And while you’re there, vote for your favorite(s), up to 3.

Research Bits:

  1. National Science Foundation, on mass extinctions, invasive species, and the Devonian Period
  2. Mind-Blowing Science, on five major mass-extinction events
  3. National Geographic, the Devonian Period 
  4. Humboldt State University’s Natural History Museum, on the Devonian Period
  5. University of California Museum of Paleontology (UCMP), Geologic Time Scale
  6. UCMP, The Devonian Period
  7. ScaleNet, glossary of terms related to zoological nomenclature (including “type”)
  8. Earth magazine, tetrapod tracks reset thinking on four-legged evolution
24 thoughts on “Trifextra: Week 102 (Flash Fiction on ‘Love Gone Wrong’)

    • Thank you so much for taking the time to visit and read. I’m glad you enjoyed the 33-word story, as well as the ancillary information. I had a lot of fun learning and re-learning these facts and placing them, albeit anthropomorphically, into the “lover” and “beloved” in this story. Do check out the other 33-worders (I’ve only made my way through reading about a third so far) and consider participating in future challenges (it looks like you’ve done Trifectas in the past); this one has a voting component as well. Happy writing!

    • Thank you for stopping by, Mary. Your compliments hearten (and flatter) me; thank you for your thoughtfulness and for taking time to visit and compliment. Be sure to visit the other writers in the challenge as well (you can vote for up to three pieces this time); there’s some stunning stuff therein.

    • Thanks for visiting and taking the time to comment. Yes, truly, love goes in many directions, including even maybe interspecies-wise! Sadly, this one didn’t work out (she was water, he earth, so I’m not sure it could work in their case, what with the extinction starting and him growing legs and leaving). In any case, please stop by again sometime, and have a great day!

    • Thank you, Trifecta. Yeah, I was lamenting (actually in your comments section!) that I can choose only 3. I’m about 2/3 through reading them all and have ‘shortlisted’ probably close to 10. So difficult, but in a good way. Thanks for providing exposure to all the worthy talent in WordPressland and beyond. Happy writing!

    • Hey, “All this happened, more or less,” right?! Yeah, she was water, he was earth. I guess it just couldn’t work! 😉 But seriously, thank you for stopping by, Kymm. I’ve been following your writing, too–good stuff there, and congrats on the recent (well, January) silver on a Trifecta. Best regards and happy writing!

    • Thanks, Janna. It’s always great to get comments, not to mention compliments, from a fellow writer-mom (or mom-writer or writer-writer or mom-mom!). I really like your response to the latest Speakeasy prompt; I can’t get the image of the mysterious grenade/finger/knife/lipstick out of my head. Masterfully told and, please excuse the pun, very chilling. Bravo!

    • Thank you, Draug. “And now for something completely different” was definitely what I was aiming for (though I can’t claim it was successful at being completely different; just that I aimed for something new under the sun). Your “exceLent” L-word story, with the body-weight leaving the bed-space and the drilling eyes [not to mention the fact of her leaving her], left me with the deep impression of the turned-coldness of the relationship and just a pervasive hollowness or maybe even partial peopleness (I mean that in a good way, like Fitzgerald’s use of the eyes of Dr. T.J. Eckleberg [sp?]–that is to say, well done, once again). Good luck on the challenge!

    • Thank you for your kind words, Björn! I am a newbie on WordPress (still), but I see your name all over the place–and for good reason; you are a prolific (and skilled) writer. Pretty cool that the Universe allows you to be talented in both writing and the “hard sciences.” I’m looking forward to reading some of your haikus this evening when my kiddies are in bed. Many appreciations for stopping by; good luck with the Trifecta challenge (your work is so lyrical, even with the butchering and doom). Please visit again, and happy writing!

    • My husband will be amazed to hear your comment, because I’m usually a terrible bag- or grocery cart-packer. But seriously, I appreciate your generous compliments–I got bogged down a little, time-wise, with the research, quite honestly, though I really enjoyed doing it. In future, I hope to make the blog more becoming to the eye; I just have to learn how to do that, baby step by baby step, I guess. Thanks so much for stopping by; that you took the time to read and comment awes me. Best wishes to you!

    • Thank you so much for taking the time to comment, Momo. Your compliment is much appreciated; I enjoyed your (very musical!) poem as well and will be interested to follow your writing. Good luck with the challenge. I see you have several Trifecta wins under your belt already. Best wishes to you and LB.

Leave a Reply

