Weekly Photo Challenge: Object

Bleeding Pen--ObjectsThis is my first foray into photographic challenges (in other words, go easy on me, photography experts!). I do not see it explicitly mentioned in the rules, so I’ll gladly disclose: I obviously used a couple filters in this photograph. I took the photograph today with our ancient digital camera;Β  it’s so old, the maximum photo size is something like 1.3 megapixels. And as you can see, it doesn’t involve an elegant locale or exotic beast. I think I might have a few better object-y photos lying about, but I wanted to make this a fresh photo.

While looking at the other photographs submitted for the weekly photography challenge at the Daily Post, I’m quickly and completely floored. Obviously many of these folks work–and not just work, but excel–in the visual medium. Check them out, and submit your own composition if you so desire.

I tentatively title this: Pen, Word, Pool

Enjoy (or dislike!) . . . either way, I appreciate the look. And please consider sticking around for the writing.

15 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Object

  1. I really like your entry – one photo, which raises a whole lot of questions about the object – where it came from, and how it came to be in the possession of the user; what the user is writing about; and where. It’s very interesting πŸ™‚

    • Hello, BB, and thank you. I truly am humbled by your comments (I feel I should probably say “dead chuffed,” though!), coming as they are from a photographer par excellence. I have taken a look at your blog and … wowsa! Your new camera is truly in expert hands. I hope you are not leaving the beeblu blog behind, alliterative though that might be, but I nonetheless wish you much luck on the new blog endeavour. Best wishes to you and yours out on the links and in life!

      • Thank you for your kind comments, Leigh πŸ™‚ I am definitely not leaving my beeblu blog behind. It’s my sanity space, lol. Hope to see you in future WPCs!

  2. I really like your photo a lot! I love the graphic look of of the pen and paper, the way things are crossed out or circled, so suitable for the subject. It’s a creative take on a common item. I also like to use filters. There are myriad ways to express oneself. Check out picmonkey.com. It’s a great photo editing site that you can use for free.

    Have fun!

    • Mary, thank you so much for your kind comments and the picmonkey tip. I really enjoyed your somewhat surreal photo as well, including the verse that went with it. As I think others have pointed out, the “braided rug of stones” is a great turn of phrase. (On a side note, I didn’t even know there was a Doctor Who experience; my husband, who grew up watching Tom Baker’s Doctor, introduced me to the series and I’ve been watching with him since.) In any case, cheers!

Leave a Reply

